artists register

caroline gower

The Dancing Boats,

The Dancing Boats,

Acrylic on canvas
5" x 6"


 I want to create Carolines crazy world and for it to touch people like a poem, showing a true sentiment without being sentimental.***My artwork comes in all different mediums from drawing, small sculptures and large to small paintings. My practise of my artwork is expressive, colourful, vibrate and enerygcetic. Doing my artwork allows me to express my visual commuication with the world around me,  and to create my own vision to how the world makes me feel..I do this through my practise***..




 Caroline Bridie Gower

Home Town: Leek, Staffordshire.

Personal Statement:

I finished my BA (Hons) Fine Art at Liverpool School of Art and Design in 2008, gaining a 2.1. Before that, I studied in Bristol and in Lincoln for an arts/illustration degree and an arts foundation course.

 In September 2008, I moved to London to undertake a postgraduate year at the Princes Drawing School.  I complete this in October 2009 with a final show in September which is still on until end of October..  My aim in Leek is to take advantage of the immense in the countryside whist home to inspire my artwork. 

 One of my particular interests is in Outsider Art. For my degree dissertation, I researched this subject and met and became friends with a number of artists specializing in this raw form of art. From September 2008 I have been assisting at Outsider Artists’ shows, as well as volunteering at the Novas Art Gallery in London. In January this year I started volunteering in Spitalfields, helping young children with arts and crafts.

 I have a great love for wildlife and this comes out in my research and in my artwork. In September 2005 I secured an art placement in Ghana for one month to teach arts and crafts to children who are less fortunate. During this time, I went on trips around Ghana to draw the wildlife. At the end, I had an art exhibition with local African artists from whom I learned a lot about African art.

 I try to do as much drawing in my spare time as I can.  At home, this means in the Peak District National Park. Most years it also means in the Burren area of southern Ireland where I have family. In summers I like to study art aboard.  For example, from June to August 2006, I did a site outdoors project at the Burren College of Art. And in summer 2007, I studied for a few months in Florence doing art classes and learning Italian.



 Summers 2000-2002

I worked at summer play schemes in Leek, which involved playing with children and teaching them new skills, for example sculpting pottery bowls.

 September 2005

Art and crafts project, Ghana: teaching children and working with African artists.

 September 2007-March 2008, part-time

Bluecoat Display Centre, Liverpool: putting out the arts and crafts products, and helping to run the gallery on a day-to-day basis.

 January-June 2008, part-time

The Bluecoat Gallery, Liverpool: helping artists with their projects and performance pieces, and with children’s activities and workshops.

 September 2008- , part-time

Novas Art Gallery, London: general assistant

 January 2009- , part-time

Spitalfields City Farm, London: helping at art classes for children.

 Puppet and Banjo course also attended this year.


 Most of my leisure activities revolve around my art and my interest in wildlife, as outlined above.  I am an active person: I grew up walking in the Lake District, I enjoy biking ride daily and go on walks as much as I can. As a child I travelled with my family youth hostelling and visited remote places such as the Isle of Skye in Scotland and the Iran Islands, in southern Ireland. I have also been a member of a climbing club, which included abseiling and pot-holing.

 While at school, college and university, I enjoyed being a member of drama and dance clubs and taking part in productions. I also enjoy socializing with my friends and going to the theatre when I can.