Leah McGurk - UK

Michael O’Pray Prize 2019




Returning for its third year, The Michael O’Pray Prize is an award for new writing on innovation and experimentation in the moving image. The winning applicant receives £500 and their text will be published by Art Monthly. The deadline for submissions is 11 November 2019.

The Prize is named in memory of the critic, historian and film programmer, Michael O’Pray. Over the course of his long and varied career, Mike was an impassioned and energetic champion of avant-garde cinema, highlighting the continuing influence of key figures from the past, while dynamically promoting contemporary talents in experimental film and video. In his writings, and in the many programmes he curated for Film and Video Umbrella and elsewhere, Mike always endeavoured to make radical, challenging, occasionally esoteric work accessible to a wider public – and it is with this in mind that the award seeks to encourage examples of imaginative, engaging writing that extols and advances this longstanding tradition of experimentation in film and video for a non-specialist audience.

Submissions will be considered by an expert panel including:

- Dr Terry Bailey, Senior Lecturer, Programme Leader, Creative and Professional Writing, University of East London

- Steven Bode, Director, FVU

- Helen Cammock, artist and Turner Prize 2019 nominee

- Chrissie Iles, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz curator, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York

- Chris McCormack, Associate Editor, Art Monthly

Submission Criteria:

- The Prize is aimed at writers starting out in their careers, having had no more than four articles published in print or online.

- The Michael O'Pray Prize is open to submissions from both the UK and internationally, though submissions must be in the English Language.

- There is no age limit to submit.

Submission info: