Harlow Art Trust - Harlow, England

Sculpture Commission, Harlow Sculpture Town




Harlow Sculpture Town is a collection of over 90 public sculptures in the town of Harlow, Essex. Harlow Art Trust is currently inviting submissions from artists to add the latest work of art to the collection. The site is a threshold between a new playground and a church with historic links to the abolition of slavery and the Industrial Revolution and local links to the old Rugby Club.

The total budget for the selected sculpture is £36,400 inclusive of artist fee, materials, fabrication and installation on site. Shortlisted artists will be paid an honorarium fee of £500 for developing their proposals.

Please see web link to download the full brief and application form.


Harlow was one of 27 original New Towns that resulted from the post war Labour government’s 1946 New Towns Act. Access to culture and heritage was an important part of this nationwide regeneration strategy, and Harlow is a prime example of this. The town’s Master Planner Sir Frederick Gibberd was a lifelong art enthusiast and collector: his was a town where “the creative arts were to be valued and given an important role in the community.”

Today in the main squares and precincts, in numerous public buildings, schools and quiet residential corners, sculptures by artists both world-famous and lesser known, are to be found. There are now six Grade II listed works in total, including work by Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth, Auguste Rodin and Elisabeth Frink. The sculptures are part of the town's social fabric, repositories of personal memory and collective history. They are a focal point of cultural activity for schools, community groups, and visitors.